Daniel and Amanda’s Weblog

April 2, 2008

Change of pace

Filed under: Uncategorized — theburts @ 3:26 pm

Our pace has been quite crazy lately. First, Oprah, then Haiti, a very busy month at work, sending out hundreds of patient letters, finishing our wedding book in a ridiculous amount of time…if you’ve ever seen a beheaded chicken, that’s been us.

It’s also meant very little blog posts. Sorry for the hiatus of sorts. Now that things are calming down a bit, and several deadlines have been met, we’re looking forward to getting back to a more normal routine of blogging. And to start, I thought I’d have a little change of pace on blogging, too.

So, tomorrow, I’ll begin a fun series of posts called Declaration of Delirium. That was the name of the humor column I (daniel) wrote as a junior in high school. I was criticized for being too crude in my writing. It was a reasonable critique. Back then, I was a big fan of Dave Barry, a nationally syndicated humor columnist. My mom and I used to read his column and laugh out loud. If you’ve read any of his stuff, you may see some similarities in writing styles…well, as similar as you can get from a 17 year old farm boy / band geek. Hope you’ll enjoy.

Other things that have been going on:

*We had our first meetup with people interested in freeganism, and it was a fun evening with great discussion and contributions from everyone.
*This weekend is reunion weekend, where we’ll spend time with our dear friends from community in north Nashville. I can’t wait…I haven’t looked forward to something this much since our wedding and honeymoon. :)
*March was seriously one of the best months I’ve had yet as a self employed independent optometrist. I’m excited to see my practice growing, and desperately need to start figuring out how I’m going to hire someone. I’ve considered hiring part time workers from SafeHaven family shelter, but haven’t made any concrete decisions yet. Any other ideas on a way to hire a part time employee and at the same time help someone out who needs an ethical employer?
*Amanda cleaned the apartment yesterday, and it looks awesome. Thanks again, honey.
*Everyone is moving out of the condo that I own, so I will need to find renters soon.
*The weather is beautiful here. I love spring.

That’s about it for now.

Peace.

3 Comments »

  1. awesome.
    Are you planning on hiring another optometrist or a clerical person?

    Comment by Ariah Fine — April 2, 2008 @ 8:10 pm | Reply

  2. just clerical…basically the person wouldn’t need any training in this field. i’d teach him/her to answer the phone, make appointments, check people in, take payments and print receipts, enter patient info into the computer, file insurances, and probably pretest people (in that way also acting as sort of an optometric assistant more than a receptionist). it’s getting busy enough where it’s really tough to do all that by myself on most days…5 patient days are fairly easy, but seeing ten patients a day gets a little stressful when you’re also answering the phone and setting up appts and checking people out.

    i know you didn’t want that kind of detail, but that’s what you got because you’re that special. :)

    Comment by theburts — April 2, 2008 @ 9:06 pm | Reply

  3. Hey guys, WOW I haven’t talked to you in a while. Oprah & Haiti?? We just got back from the DR and got alot done. I’ll check back often to keep up.

    BA

    Comment by Brian Alexander — April 4, 2008 @ 1:57 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

