Daniel and Amanda’s Weblog

October 4, 2007

Budget and water woes…

Filed under: recycling,reusing — theburts @ 3:48 pm

You guys are killing me. I can’t help it that my husband is a Super Blogger. Hehe.

So, since we decided to get his school loans payed off by Feb. 18th, a lofty goal by any means, we had to set a budget to keep our spending in check. We had created a budget in our premarital counseling, so we just had to tweak it a bit. We’re going to follow the Dave Ramsey “envelope” thing for our groceries, eating out money, & our personal “fun” money. I’ve always been conservative & frugal with my money, but this budget thing is going to be tough!

Like… we got invited to a friend’s house for a wine & cheese night… so, we have to take a bottle of wine & cheese, and that’s going to take a big chunk of money out of one of our envelopes. And, it’s just Oct. 4th, which means that we have 27 days left with little money. So, I guess we better get used to staying in or find some free things to do! Also, with our apartment flooding situation, we’ll probably have to move out for at least a week this month, so eating at home will be more difficult. So anyways… wish us luck (by luck, I mean diligence) and invite us to free meals, activities, etc. J

On another note, I ran across a website – www.newdream.org this morning and wasted some tax-payer’s money while I looked at it from work. (also, I’m blogging from work. Oops.) I made a pledge on the site to stop drinking bottled water. If I get a whole bunch of other people to sign up, I can win a prize… but I’m too lazy to do that. They also say that my nalgene bottle leaks some harmful chemicals into the water. They recommend using a stainless steel bottle and give some links to some that cost close to $20! I can’t afford that on this budget! I’ve been using the same plastic water bottle at work for 3 months or so, and now that I think of it, that’s pretty gross since I never wash it out or anything…. Just refill it. We also have about 10 bottles of water in our ‘frig that Daniel found in the abyss that was his car. So, I guess we’ll use (and reuse, then recycle) those bottles, then never use bottled water again, hopefully.

I inherited (from a roommate that didn’t take it when he moved out) this water thing that is about 2 inches wide with a spout that sits in the ‘frig. It holds probably close to 2-gallons of water without taking up much space. We’ve had regular old tap water in it, and that cold water is so yummy, so the bottled water thing won’t be hard at home.. just maybe when we’re out – at dances and such.

Ok, there. J

4 Comments »

  1. I totally think we’ll be ahead of schedule on our budget. We definitely need encouragement and challenging, but we can do it. Should we give you guys the budget numbers so you can tell us what we should do better in?

    Plus, I’ve had a couple good days at work and I sold my electric guitar for $550, so we’re ahead already! Hopefully many people will need to get their eyes checked in November. ;)

    Thanks for the post, hon.

    Comment by danielandamanda — October 4, 2007 @ 8:30 pm | Reply

  2. great stuff.
    Just so you know, I think I used some of the same water bottles for two years without washing them out, and I didn’t die. ;)

    I’d love to hear more about your budget. I was trying to decide if I should put my budget just out there on the blog and what not. Not sure how to think through those sorts of things just yet.

    You two rock!

    Comment by ariahfine — October 5, 2007 @ 8:17 pm | Reply

  3. We, too, are trying to realign our budget. Those envelopes are such a better idea than action; maybe we just need more diligence as well. We will persevere!
    I have been using the same bottle for my water at work since I’ve been here. I didn’t think much about it until just now.
    We miss you! We would have you over for dinner, but I think the gas might be more than you would pay for eating out.

    Comment by Dawn — October 8, 2007 @ 5:18 pm | Reply

  4. Dawn, I definitely don’t speak from experience here since we’ve just started! :) But here’s how we do the envelopes (basically)…if you or anyone has better ideas let us know.

    We have envelopes for entertainment (includes eating out), personal (clothing, toothpaste, etc), groceries, and “to deposit.” Our “fun money” goes in our wallets so we have it with us all the time and spend it however we want…eating out for lunch, me hanging out with jonathan and going to a movie, etc. When Amanda and I do something together, that comes out of our entertainment envelope.

    The first 3 we just put the allotted cash in there the first of the month. If we are out and decide to eat or watch a movie (those seem to be the easiest examples, but don’t think we eat out and go to see movies every week, heheh) and hadn’t planned on it, we obviously don’t have cash from the entertainment envelope. So we just pay with one of our debit cards, and when we get home we withdraw that amount of money from that envelope and put it into the “to deposit” envelope.

    We also use the “to deposit” envelope for other unexpected income…birthday gifts, the money I got from the guitar, etc. We’ll probably deposit that into our accounts twice a month or so. That make sense?

    Comment by danielandamanda — October 9, 2007 @ 5:39 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

