Daniel and Amanda’s Weblog

September 20, 2007

Some joys in my life…

Filed under: Just for fun,Work — theburts @ 10:42 pm
  • My talented, giving, intelligent, and beautiful wife of one month and 9 days.
  • My new fish tank that I got for free to go in my office. Especially the funny clown fish…they make me smile quite often at the quirky things they do.
  • Our new end table made for the cost of under a dollar (for the spray paint). From a dumpstered table and scrap wood from torn apart drawers. It’s perfect.

end-table.jpg

  • Having the guts to take back control of my working life by letting go of one of my leases…and still knowing that, even though it means a financial cut, my wife is proud of me for it.
  • Thinking about having more time with said wife because of said job change. :)
  • Dumpstered Hostess Cinnamon Strudels…especially warmed with butter. Oh, and lots of them. Mmm.
  • Getting to march with protesters for the Jena 6 this morning when I didn’t even know about it…just drove by and saw it, parked illegally, and ran to catch up.
  • Tooth pain subsiding.
  • Catching up with a friend from years ago and remembering old times.
  • Reading the Bible with Amanda by lamp light.
  • Showing my little bro Jon how to get free popcorn and a drink at the theater. oops!
  • Meeting a patient who bikes 10 miles each way to work every day, and hearing him encourage me in my riding. (since Ariah’s not here to do that anymore!)

That’s it for now. I’m very pleased with my decision to go full time to Costco. It will allow me to grow the practice faster at Costco, concentrate more on improving the way things are done there (insurance, appointments, recalls, patient letters, contact ordering, hiring assistant, etc), but most importantly work 5 days a week again and spend more time with Amanda. Can’t freakin wait.

SEE is taking it pretty well, although they’re sad to see me go. I hope to keep great relationships with both John and Michelle and hope not to burn any bridges…wouldn’t want the first bridge burned in my optometric career. But I am working my last half Saturday at SEE on October 13, and hopefully soon after will find someone to take Wednesdays and Fridays. At the most, I’ll work Wednesdays through the end of the year to help them out, but I don’t think it will be THAT difficult to find another doctor to take the lease.

That’s all for now…ok, baby, it’s your turn!!!! :)

D

2 Comments »

  1. Love the table! But you can’t crawl through this one. :)

    Comment by Amy — September 21, 2007 @ 12:49 am | Reply

  2. Rockin’ cool friend. I’m loving the updates. Now if they quiet wife of yours would just pipe up!

    Comment by Ariah Fine — September 21, 2007 @ 2:47 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

